Sentimental Noise

Various Artists  

Sentimental Noise

Released: December 10, 2021


LP Metallic Silver

The release of Sentimental Noise, Jagjaguwar completes the quarterly cycle of albums, art and creative endeavors conceived in celebration of its 25th Anniversary. Throughout 2021, the series has honored the guiding pillars of community and collaboration, each installment resurrecting a mantra from the record label’s past in order to build brand new worlds that meld the past, present and future. The 17 songs of Sentimental Noise provide a soundtrack for self-discovery, unearthing music from some of Jagjaguwar’s earliest friends, local legends and formative discoveries, from the noise mongers of Bevel, Drunk, Oneida, Tammar, Wilderness and Wold/Fauchion, to Jenny Hval, Tim Darcy, and Atsushi Miura, the man who first allowed Jagjaguwar founder Darius Van Arman to book shows in the basement of his sushi restaurant in Charlottesville, VA.

Sentimental Noise is accompanied by a 200-page publication created with visual artist Nina Hartmann. Equal parts oral history, poetry journal and black metal zine, Sentimental Noise, Issue #001 recalls Jagjaguwar’s early days as a cassette compilation and haphazardly made booklet, while combining poems from David Berman, Robert Creeley and Sharon Van Etten with tribute pieces, imagery, inside jokes, heartfelt love letters and more that spans the label’s past quarter century.

Other releases by Various Artists

  • Music From Drinking Buddies, A Film by Joe Swanberg

    Music From Drinking Buddies, A Film by Joe Swanberg