Sharon Van Etten releases new album ‘We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong’ with video for lead single “Mistakes”

Today marks the release of Sharon Van Etten’s eagerly anticipated new album, We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong, out now via Jagjaguwar. After not releasing any album singles in the lead up, fans can now listen to the record in its entirety as Van Etten intended: “From beginning to end, this album is an emotional journey that documents the rollercoaster of the last two years we have all experienced in our own ways. I hope you will take that ride with me. Thank you for staying by my side.” Van Etten will celebrate with a special record release show livestream tonight at 8pm Eastern via her YouTube. It will kick off with the video premiere of album standout, “Mistakes.” Directed by Ashley Connor, the “Mistakes” video features many of Van Etten’s old Brooklyn haunts like The Commodore, The Drift, and Union Pool. Additionally, this coming Monday, May 9th, Van Etten will perform on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert

Tune In at 8pm Eastern  for “Mistakes” Video Premiere & Record Release Show Livestream

We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong articulates the beauty and power that can be rescued from our wreckages, concerning itself with the questions we ask ourselves when we think the world – or at least, our world – might be ending. Have we loved as well as we could? Did we try hard enough? How do we protect the things most precious to us from destructive forces beyond our control? In considering these questions and her own vulnerability in the face of them, Van Etten has created a stunning meditation on how life’s changes can be both terrifying and transformative. There is darkness here but there is light too, and all of it is held together by Van Etten’s soaring vocals and uncanny ability to both pierce the hearts of her listeners and make them whole again. Things are not dark, she reminds us, only darkish.

Purchase/Stream We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong

Sharon Van Etten Tour Dates:

(tix on sale here)

Tue. May 31 – Lisbon, PT @ Aula Magna ^#

Thu. Jun. 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound 

Sun. Jun. 5 – München, DE @ Muffathalle ^%

Mon. Jun. 6 – Antwerp, BE @ Openluchttheater Rivierenhof ^%

Tue. Jun. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Markthalle ^%

Thu. Jun. 9 – Oslo, NE @ Loaded &

Fri. Jun. 10 – Stockholm, SE @ Rosendal, Djurgarden &

Sat. Jun. 11 – Copenhagen, DK @ Syd For Solen &

Mon. Jun. 13 – Berlin, DE @ Metropol ^%

Tue. Jun. 14 – Utrecht, NE @ TivoliVredenberg Grote Zaal ^%

Wed. Jun. 15 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale ^%

Fri. Jun. 17 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy ^%

Sat. Jun. 18 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Institute ^%

Sun. Jun. 19 – Leeds, UK @ 02 Academy Leeds ^%

Tue. Jun. 21 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowland ^%

Wed. Jun. 22 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street ^%

Thu. Jul. 21 – Vienna, VA @ Wolf Trap Center For the Performing Arts *

Fri. Jul. 22 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit *

Sat. Jul. 23 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium *

Mon. Jul. 25 – Austin, TX @ Moody Amphitheater *

Thu. Jul. 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *

Fri. Jul. 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *

Sat. Jul 30 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre *

Tu. Aug. 2 – Troutdale, OR @ McMenamins Edgefield Amphitheater *

Wed. Aug. 3 – Redmond, WA @ Marymoor Amphitheater *

Fri. Aug. 5 – Boise, ID @ Idaho Botanical Garden *

Sat. Aug. 6 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Twilight Concert Series *

Sun. Aug. 7 – Denver, CO @ Sculpture Park *

Tue. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Surly Brewing Festival Field *

Wed. Aug 10 – Chicago, IL @ The Salt Shed *

Thu. Aug. 11 – Kalamazoo, MI @ State Theatre – Kalamazoo *

Fri. Aug. 12 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall *

Sat. Aug. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall *

Mon. Aug. 15 – Shelburne, VT @ The Green at Shelburne Museum *

Tue. Aug. 16 – LaFayette, NY @ Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards *

Thu. Aug. 18 – Boston, MA @ Leader Bank Pavilion *

Fri. Aug. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Skyline Stage at The Mann *

Sat. Aug. 20 – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *

Sun. Aug. 21 – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *

 

& = with The National

^ = Darkness Fades Tour

# = with The Weather Station

% = with L’Rain

* = The Wild Hearts Tour with Angel Olsen & Julien Baker