Jagjaguwar | JAG280


(JAG280 released: 2015-12-04 )

Okkervil River
Black Sheep Boy (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

Okkervil River formed in 1998, a band made up of singer and songwriter Will Sheff, drummer Seth Warren, and bassist Zachary Thomas. They gigged around Austin, TX for awhile and self-released a debut EP before finally attracting the attention of a small Indiana label called Jagjaguwar, who released their debut LP Don't Fall in Love with Everyone You See and its follow up Down the River of Golden Dreams. Critics took note of Sheff's creative drive and his dense, novelistic lyrics; Kelefa Sanneh wrote in the New York Times that "Mr. Sheff uses a rickety voice to disguise wild ambition," and Rolling Stone's David Fricke added that "Singer-songwriter Will Sheff of the haunted-country quartet Okkervil River is ready for worldwide renown." But worldwide renown eluded Okkervil River, and by 2004 they were running out of money and worn out by a relentless touring schedule. Drummer Seth Warren had moved to California, and bassist Thomas was transitioning out of the band to spend more time with his family. Sheff decided that if the next Okkervil River record didn't find an audience he'd quit playing music. He returned from the road and rented a shack out by the Austin Airport, and the new lineup of Okkervil River ʇ
  1. Black Sheep Boy
  2. For Real
  3. In A Radio Song
  4. Black
  5. Get Big
  6. A King And A Queen
  7. A Stone
  8. The Latest Toughs
  9. Song Of Our So-Called Friend
  10. So Come Back, I Am Waiting
  11. A Glow
  12. Missing Children
  13. No Key, No Plan
  14. A Garden
  15. Black Sheep Boy #4
  16. The Next Four Months
  17. Another Radio Song
  18. A Forest
  19. Last Love Song For Now
  20. Goodnight Irene
  21. I'm In Love With Susan Smith
  22. See See Rider
  23. Knoxville Girl
  24. Satan is Real
  25. Good Liquor Gonna Carry Me Down
  26. Willow Tree
  27. Moonshiner
  28. Oh, The Wind And Rain
  29. What are They Doing in Heaven Today
  30. Trouble in Mind