Foxygen Return With The Orchestral Masterstroke ‘Hang’

The kids clawed their way back to Broadway. They’re all grown up and running the show. Foxygen, the LA songwriting behemoth of Sam France and Jonathan Rado, has returned with Hang. They’ve pulled out all the stops on this one, bringing together myriad strands of influences into an elaborate, uncompromising vision. Hang features a 40-piece symphony orchestra arranged and conducted by Trey Pollard and Matthew E. White of Richmond, VA’s Spacebomb Studios. The album’s backing band includes the rhythm section of Brian and Michael D’Addario (AKA The Lemon Twigs) and features Flaming Lips’ Steven Drozd on selected tracks. The first single and sunniest track on Hang, “Follow The Leader,” is accompanied with a video that might be United Colors of Benneton commercial if it weren’t for a creeping feeling that something’s a bit off.

All Hang pre-orders bundles will include a Hang Demos flexi disc with early version of album cuts of “Follow The Leader (demo)” and “On Lankershim (demo).” And the first 50 pre-orders will receive an autographed piece of sheet music from the Hang recording sessions. Hang is out January 20th.

Pre-order Hang: https://foxygentheband.lnk.to/Hang

jag301-web


Hang Tracklisting:
1. Follow The Leader
2. Avalon
3. Mrs. Adams
4. America
5. On Lankershim
6. Upon A Hill
7. Trauma
8. Rise Up


Foxygen Tour Dates:
Wed. Nov. 9 – London, UK @ Oslo – SOLD OUT
Thu. Dec. 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade – SOLD OUT
Tue. Mar. 21 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Wed. Mar. 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri. Mar. 24 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5
Sat. Mar. 25 – Boston, MA @ The Paradise
Sun. Mar. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Tue. Mar. 28 – Toronto, ON @ Opera House
Thu. Mar. 30 – Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Fri. Mar. 31 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre
Sat. Apr. 1 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre
Sun. Apr. 2 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave
Tue. Apr. 4 – Denver, CO @ Gothic Theatre
Wed. Apr. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Fri. Apr. 7 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Sat. Apr. 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
Sun. Apr. 9 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
Tue. Apr. 11 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thu. Apr. 13 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
Fri. Apr. 14 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. Apr. 15 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Mon. Apr. 17 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
Tue. Apr. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Wed. Apr. 19 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
Thu. Apr. 20 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle