Bon Iver’s New Album ‘i,i’ to be Released Tonight

Tonight, Bon Iver release their fourth studio album i,i digitally on Jagjaguwar. Following yesterday’s intimate i,i listening events, this morning saw the territory-by-territory release of 8 individual new Bon Iver tracks as fans woke up to the unannounced gift of the band’s most expansive, joyful and generous music yet, cascading from Sydney to Warsaw, London to Los Angeles.

Listen to and/or Pre-order i,i

Recorded mostly at Sonic Ranch in Texas, i,i finds Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon in a calmed creative state that he channels into the heart of each of the album’s 13 songs. The core band for the i,i sessions included Sean Carey, Andrew Fitzpatrick, Mike Lewis, Matt McCaughan, and Justin Vernon with Rob Moose and Jenn Wasner, plus contributions from James Blake, Brad and Phil Cook, Aaron and Bryce Dessner, Bruce Hornsby, Channy Leaneagh, Naeem Juwan, Velvet Negroni, Marta Salogni, Francis Starlite, Moses Sumney, TU Dance, and many others.

Prior to today’s full album release, Bon Iver shared four tracks from i,i which were met with widespread critical acclaim. The New York Times hailed the group’s “unmistakable, just-before-dawn textures” while Time Magazine said the new music “haunts and welcomes: a good portent of the season to come,” and Vice added it “reminds us why Vernon is one of music’s most enduring figures.”

Following the release of i,i, Bon Iver will tour the U.S. in September and October. See a full list of shows below, and watch mini-documentary Bon Iver:Autumn to learn how Bon Iver will be bringing a sense of intimacy and sonic and visual innovation to some of their largest venues to date.