Angel Olsen Reveals “Through The Fires”

’Through The Fires’ is the centerpiece statement of this record. It’s a song I wrote to remind myself that this life is temporary, the past is not something to dwell on, that it’s important to keep moving, keep searching for the people that are also searching, and to notice the moments that are lighter and bigger than whatever trouble I’ve encountered.” 

Angel Olsen on “Through The Fires”

Angel Olsen will release her new album, Big Time, on June 3rd via Jagjaguwar. Ahead of its release, she’s presented gorgeous singles, “All The Good Times” and the album’s title track, and today unveils the album’s centerpiece “Through The Fires.” Big Time was forged in a whiplash; the rare, fertile moments when both fresh grief and fresh love occur, when mourning and limerence heighten, complicate and explain each other. This is immediate in “Through The Fires,” throughout which Olsen’s singular voice unfurls over piano, drums and a string trio, as she commemorates working through and breaking self-boundaries to find one’s true self. It’s heartbreaking and resilient all at once. The single is accompanied by a lyric video shot by Angela Ricciardi

 

“Through The Fires” Lyrics:

I lost sight, then I made up my mind

To learn to release the dreams that had died

In spite of the sound of what I had heard

To recognize truth without any word

I felt the change and it

came back around

Then I moved in to the feeling I found

And the feeling I found

Showed me how I could lose

to love without boundary

and put it to use

To remember the ghost

Who exists in the past

But be freed from the longing

For one moment to last

And walk through the fires

Of all earthly desires

And let go of the pain that obstructs you from higher higher higher 

Higher higher higher higher higher lighter lighter lighter 

Big Time is an album about the expansive power of new love, written during the time Olsen was coming out as queer, and having her first experience of queer love and heartbreak. But this brightness and optimism is tempered by a profound and layered sense of loss; both of Olsen’s parents passed within weeks of each other, just after Olsen came out to them.  

Big Time was recorded and mixed with co-producer Jonathan Wilson at his Fivestar Studios in Topanga, California. Drew Erickson played piano, organ, and handled string arrangements, and Olsen’s longtime bandmate, Emily Elhaj, played bass throughout. Big Time proves Olsen is now writing from a more rooted place of clarity. While her previous record, All Mirrors, was full of dramatic shifts and twists, here the surprises come in their simplicity—a slow swell of strings, instrumentation that cycles like a storm, or sparkling horns in a light-flooded break-up ballad. These are songs not just about transformational mourning, but of finding freedom and joy in the privations as they come. 

As previously announced, every CD and LP copy of Big Time ordered directly from the label store will include an additional charge to offset the carbon emissions of each piece. Jagjaguwar, in partnership with Terra Lumina Consulting, calculated emissions and costs to achieve a carbon negative product for “cradle-to-grave” use of each physical piece: from the mining of materials, to pressing and shipping, to the electricity consumed by your stereo at home, to end of life disposal. Carbon offsets will be purchased through Native, supporting the Medford Spring Grassland project.

Recently, Olsen and director Kimberly Stuckwisch announced a new film, also titled Big Time, presented by Amazon Music. The 28-minute film premieres June 2nd at 6:30pm PDT/9:30pm EDT on the Amazon Music channel on Twitch and via the Amazon Music App. The Big Time Twitch Watch Party will also feature a Q+A with both Olsen and Kimberly, followed by a concert airing from the premiere party at Brain Dead Studios in Los Angeles. Additional screenings will take place in Los Angeles and London (all details are below). All screenings will be followed by a solo performance from Olsen. 

Angel kicks off The Wild Hearts Tour with Sharon Van Etten and Julien Baker this July, and will tour Europe this fall. All dates are below and on sale now.

Watch the “Big Time” Video

Watch the “All The Good Times” Video

Pre-Order Big Time

Angel Olsen Tour Dates

Tue. May 17 – London, UK  @ Screen On The Green (Film Screening and Solo Performance) – SOLD OUT

Wed. Jun. 1 – Los Angeles, Ca @ GRAMMY ® Museum (Film Screening and Solo Performance)

Thu. Jun. 2 – Los Angeles, Ca @ Brain Dead Studios (Film Screening and Solo Performance) – SOLD OUT

Thu. Jul. 21 – Vienna, VA @ Wolf Trap Center For the Performing Arts *

Fri. Jul. 22 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit *

Sat. Jul. 23 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium *

Mon. Jul. 25 – Austin, TX @ Moody Amphitheater *

Thu. Jul. 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *

Fri. Jul. 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *

Sat. Jul 30 – Berkeley, Ca @ Greek Theatre *

Tu. Aug. 2 – Troutdale, OR @ McMenamins Edgefield Amphitheater *

Wed. Aug. 3 – Redmond, WA @ Marymoor Amphitheater *

Fri. Aug. 5 – Boise, ID @ Idaho Botanical Garden *

Sat. Aug. 6 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Twilight Concert Series *

Sun. Aug. 7 – Denver, CO @ Sculpture Park *

Tue. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Surly Brewing Festival Field *

Wed. Aug 10 – Chicago, IL @ The Salt Shed *

Thu. Aug. 11 – Kalamazoo, MI @ Kalamazoo State Theatre * – SOLD OUT

Fri. Aug. 12 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall *

Sat. Aug. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall *

Mon. Aug. 15 – Shelburne, VT @ The Green at Shelburne Museum *

Tue. Aug. 16 – LaFayette, NY @ Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards *

Thu. Aug. 18 – Boston, MA @ Leader Bank Pavilion *

Fri. Aug. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Skyline Stage at The Mann *

Sat. Aug. 20 – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage * – SOLD OUT

Sun. Aug. 21 – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *

Sun. Sept. 4 – Nelsonville, OH @ Nelsonville Music Festival

Sat. Sept. 10 – Abiquiu, NM @ Ladder To The Moon Festival

Mon. Sept. 26 – Lisbon, PT @ Capitólio ^

Tue. Sept. 27 – Lisbon, PT @Capitólio ^

Thu. Sept. 29 – Madrid, ES @ La Riviera ^

Fri. Sep t. 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Sala Apolo ^

Sat. Oct. 1 – Lyon, FR @ L’ Epicerie Moderne ^

Sun. Oct. 2 – Zurich, CH @ Kaufleuten  ^

Tue. Oct. 4 – Munich, DE @ Freiheitshalle ^

Wed. Oct. 5 – Vienna, AT @ WUK ^

Thu. Oct. 6 – Warsaw, PL @ Palladium ^

Fri. Oct. 7 – Berlin, DE @ Huxleys ^

Sun. Oct. 9 – Stockholm, SE @ Berns ^

Mon. Oct. 10 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller ^

Tue. Oct. 11 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA ^

Thu. Oct. 13 – Cologne, DE @ Gloria ^

Fri. Oct 14 – Paris, FR @ Bataclan  ^

Sat. Oct 15 – Leuven, BE @ Het Depot ^

Sun Oct 16 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso ^

Tue. Oct. 18 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton ^

Wed. Oct. 19 – Bath, UK @ The Forum ^

Thu. Oct. 20 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall ^

Fri. Oct. 21 – Manchester , UK @ Albert Hall ^

Mon. Oct 24 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street ^

 

* = The Wild Hearts Tour co-headline with Sharon Van Etten, & Julien Baker

^ = with Tomberlin supporting