north america Blog :: JAGJAGUWAR

Filed Under:north america

WATCH // V Magazine Debuts Sharon Van Etten “Our Love” Video Dir. By Karen Collins





Are We There debuted a little under two months ago and since then Sharon Van Etten has played sold out shows across the US and Europe. Before Sharon continues her tour through North America, V Magazine premiered a very intimate and beautiful video from Karen Collins today. You can watch the video above or here on YouTube / Vevo.

On the video, director Collins wrote, “On set I felt like a privileged witness to something very personal. For greater intimacy, she closes her eyes for the most part of the video, but Sharon has the most beautiful eyes in the world, so there was some sadness in doing this. Luckily, she opens them in the end.”

If you haven’t already, get the new album via SC Distribution, Amazon, iTunes, and your local record store.


TOUR DATES:
[all tickets: jagjaguwar.com/tour]

Mon. July 14 – Fargo, ND @ Aquarium
Wed. July 16 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. July 17 – Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin
Fri. July 18 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Sun. July 20 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
Thu. Aug. 7 – Sun. Aug. 9 – Goteborg, SE @ Way Out West
Sat. Aug. 9 – Olso, NO @ Øyafestivalen
Sun. Aug. 10 – Zurich, CH @ Rote Fabrik
Tue. Aug. 12 – Bezirk-Landstrasse, AU @ Arena Wien Open Air
Thu. Aug. 14 – Venlo, NL @ Zomerparkfeest
Fri. Aug. 15 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sat. Aug. 16 – Crickhowell, UK @ Glanusk Park – Green Man Festival
Tue. Oct. 7 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House
Wed. Oct. 8 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch
Thu. Oct. 9 – Columbus, OH @ Wexner Center for the Arts
Mon. Oct. 13 – Iowa City, IA @ Gabe’s Oasis
Tue. Oct. 14 – Champaign, IL @ Highdive
Wed. Oct. 15 – St. Louis, MO @ The Luminary Center for the Arts
Fri. Oct. 17 – Dallas, TX @ The Kessler Theatre
Sat. Oct. 18 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Mon. Oct 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Tue. Oct. 21 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
Thu. Oct. 23 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Fri. Oct. 24 – Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater
Sat. Oct. 25 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Sat. Nov. 15 – The Hague, NL @ Crossing Border
Sun. Nov. 16 – Hasselt, BE @ Muziekodroom
Mon. Nov. 17 – Hamburg, DE @ Prinzenbar
Tue. Nov. 18 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Thu. Nov. 20 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Fri. Nov. 21 – Gent, BE @ Handelsbeurs
Sat. Nov. 22 – Utrecht, NL @ Les Guess Who
Mon. Nov. 24 – Manchester, UK @ Cathedral
Tu. Nov. 25 – Glasgow, UK @ Art School
Wed. Nov. 26 – Birmingham, UK @ Library
Mon. Dec. 1 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Tue. Dec. 2 – Stuttgart, DE @ 1210
Thu. Dec. 4 – Lausanne, CH @ Bogen F
Fri. Dec. 5 – Basel, CH @ Kaserne-Rosstall
Sat. Dec. 6 – Bologna, IT @ Covo
Sun. Dec. 7 – Rome, IT @ Circole degli Artisti
Mon. Dec. 8 – Milan, IT @ Salumeria della Musica
Wed. Dec. 10 – Barcelona, ES @ Foyer del Gran Teatre del Liceu de Barcelona
Thu. Dec. 11 – Madrid, ES @ Teatro Lara – American Autumn

S. Carey + Califone Announce Co-Headlining Tour, S. Carey Covers The Pines



This September the musical wizards S. Carey and Califone [on our sister label Dead Oceans] are teaming up for a co-headlining tour. Coming off the release of his new album, Range of Light, S. Carey starts his tour with The Pines tonight while Califone has been busy playing sold out living room shows and festivals since the start of the year supporting last fall’s Stitches, which was named one of the top albums of the 2013 by Aquarium Drunkard

Today S. Carey shared a cover of The Pines “Shiny Shoes” to celebrate the start of the tour tonight in Fargo, North Dakota. Listen to the track above.

All dates listed below.

CALIFONE + S. CAREY CO-HEADLINE DATES
[all dates + tickets: jagjaguwar.com/tour]
9/4 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
9/5 – New Haven, CT @ Ballroom at Outer Space
9/7 – New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge
9/8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
9/9 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
9/11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Southgate House (Sanctuary)
9/12 – Bloomington, IN @ Russian Recording
9/14 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall

ALL DATES
06/24 – Fargo, ND – The Aquarium *
06/25 – Winnipeg, MB – Park Theatre *
06/27 – Calgary, AB – Palomino Smokehouse *
06/28 – Edmonton, AB – Brixx *
06/30 – Vancouver, BC – The BIltmore Cabaret *
07/01 – Seattle, WA – The Triple Door *
07/02 – Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios *
07/03 – Davis, CA – Sophia’s Thai Kitchen *
07/05 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent *
07/06 – Santa Cruz, CA – The Crepe Place *
07/07 – Los Angeles, CA – The Troubadour *
07/09 – San Diego, CA – Casbah *
07/10 – Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom *
07/11 – Santa Fe, NM – Sol Santa Fe *
07/12 – Denver, CO – The Bluebird Theater *
07/13 – Omaha, NE – The Waiting Room *
07/14 – Des Moines, IA – Vaudeville Mews
07/15 – Ames, IA – The Treehouse *

* w/ The Pines

SESSION / Moonface Releases Paper Bag Session Of “Love the House You’re In”, Announces North American Tour Dates

For Moonface‘s latest release, Spencer Krug has stripped down his sound to just a piano and his voice, leaving the effects, overdubs, and electronic elements out. The new album, Julia with Blue Jeans On, is Krug’s self-described love record and displays an angle of Spencer’s music not heard before.

Paper Bag Records filmed a simply stunning video of the new song “Love The House You’re In” live for their Sessions series. Get a sense of seeing Spencer live by watching the session above or on YouTube here.

A few weeks ago we premiered the first song stream from the new album, “Everyone is Noah, Everyone is the Ark”, a slow building warning of flood waters ahead. Click HERE to listen to the song on our Soundcloud.

Read more for pre-order links, Exclaim’s take on Spencer live at Pop Montreal, and newly added North American tour dates.

Read the rest of this entry »

SESSION // Unknown Mortal Orchestra Perform “Swim and Sleep (Like A Shark)” Live On KCRW, Continue Tour North American Tour

The fine people at KCRW‘s Morning Becomes Eclectic had Unknown Mortal Orchestra in their studio last week to perform a few songs while in LA. Watch the live video of “Swim and Sleep (Like A Shark)” above or on KCRW‘s YouTube channel here.

Click read more to pre-order UMO‘s new ‘Blue Record’ acoustic EP, watch the other live KCRW video for “So Good At Being In Trouble”, and see North American tour dates through the end of October and European dates in November.

Read the rest of this entry »

The Besnard Lakes Set to Tour With SUUNS


The Besnard Lakes are all set to tour the US/UK in support of their soon-to-be-released album Until in Excess, Imperceptible UFO. Joining them through April 18 to April 25 is none other than fellow Montrealites & Secretly Canadian band SUUNS, who are also touring in support of their new album, Images Du Futur. See the full schedule below.

Have you heard the new single from The Besnard Lakes? Listen to “People Of The Sticks.” While you’re at it, check out SUUN’s “Edie’s Dream.” Read the rest of this entry »

Forever Dilating Eye by Sinoia Caves
Thousand Eyes by Lia Ices
Taking Chances by Sharon Van Etten
Every Time the Sun Comes Up by Sharon Van Etten
Lines of Latitude by Small Black
North Hollywood Microwaves by Pink Mountaintops
Fire-scene by S. Carey
Crown the Pines by S. Carey
Forgiven/Forgotten by Angel Olsen

Every Time the Sun Comes Up by Sharon Van Etten

Ambulance City by Pink Mountaintops

Taking Chances by Sharon Van Etten

There are no shows at this time.

See all upcoming shows

© 2014 Jagjaguwar. All rights reserved.