Filed Under:local record stores

WATCH // V Magazine Debuts Sharon Van Etten “Our Love” Video Dir. By Karen Collins





Are We There debuted a little under two months ago and since then Sharon Van Etten has played sold out shows across the US and Europe. Before Sharon continues her tour through North America, V Magazine premiered a very intimate and beautiful video from Karen Collins today. You can watch the video above or here on YouTube / Vevo.

On the video, director Collins wrote, “On set I felt like a privileged witness to something very personal. For greater intimacy, she closes her eyes for the most part of the video, but Sharon has the most beautiful eyes in the world, so there was some sadness in doing this. Luckily, she opens them in the end.”

If you haven’t already, get the new album via SC Distribution, Amazon, iTunes, and your local record store.


TOUR DATES:
[all tickets: jagjaguwar.com/tour]

Mon. July 14 – Fargo, ND @ Aquarium
Wed. July 16 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. July 17 – Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin
Fri. July 18 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Sun. July 20 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
Thu. Aug. 7 – Sun. Aug. 9 – Goteborg, SE @ Way Out West
Sat. Aug. 9 – Olso, NO @ Øyafestivalen
Sun. Aug. 10 – Zurich, CH @ Rote Fabrik
Tue. Aug. 12 – Bezirk-Landstrasse, AU @ Arena Wien Open Air
Thu. Aug. 14 – Venlo, NL @ Zomerparkfeest
Fri. Aug. 15 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sat. Aug. 16 – Crickhowell, UK @ Glanusk Park – Green Man Festival
Tue. Oct. 7 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House
Wed. Oct. 8 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch
Thu. Oct. 9 – Columbus, OH @ Wexner Center for the Arts
Mon. Oct. 13 – Iowa City, IA @ Gabe’s Oasis
Tue. Oct. 14 – Champaign, IL @ Highdive
Wed. Oct. 15 – St. Louis, MO @ The Luminary Center for the Arts
Fri. Oct. 17 – Dallas, TX @ The Kessler Theatre
Sat. Oct. 18 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Mon. Oct 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Tue. Oct. 21 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
Thu. Oct. 23 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Fri. Oct. 24 – Charlottesville, VA @ Jefferson Theater
Sat. Oct. 25 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Sat. Nov. 15 – The Hague, NL @ Crossing Border
Sun. Nov. 16 – Hasselt, BE @ Muziekodroom
Mon. Nov. 17 – Hamburg, DE @ Prinzenbar
Tue. Nov. 18 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Thu. Nov. 20 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Fri. Nov. 21 – Gent, BE @ Handelsbeurs
Sat. Nov. 22 – Utrecht, NL @ Les Guess Who
Mon. Nov. 24 – Manchester, UK @ Cathedral
Tu. Nov. 25 – Glasgow, UK @ Art School
Wed. Nov. 26 – Birmingham, UK @ Library
Mon. Dec. 1 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Tue. Dec. 2 – Stuttgart, DE @ 1210
Thu. Dec. 4 – Lausanne, CH @ Bogen F
Fri. Dec. 5 – Basel, CH @ Kaserne-Rosstall
Sat. Dec. 6 – Bologna, IT @ Covo
Sun. Dec. 7 – Rome, IT @ Circole degli Artisti
Mon. Dec. 8 – Milan, IT @ Salumeria della Musica
Wed. Dec. 10 – Barcelona, ES @ Foyer del Gran Teatre del Liceu de Barcelona
Thu. Dec. 11 – Madrid, ES @ Teatro Lara – American Autumn

ALBUM RELEASE // Sharon Van Etten ‘Are We There’ Out Now Worldwide, On Tour Now


Sharon Van Etten‘s new album Are We There is now out worldwide!

Following up from her 2012 album Tramp, Sharon shares an album not only fully-formed and extravagant in sound but also completely self-produced. Her writing also continues to explore personal experience drawing from feelings of emptiness, loss, fear of change, desire, waiting, and self-healing.

Preview the new album with selected tracks above or on our Soundcloud here.

Get the new album via SC Distribution, Amazon, iTunes, and your local record store.

Fantastic reviews have already started to come in:

“Even as she has settled into a successful solo career, Van Etten continues to write incisively about the volatility of love, with no loss of urgency or investment – Van Etten never sounded quite so self-assured musically”

Pitchfork // 8.2

“Are We There offers an artist in full command of her voice and her instrument, a woman who knows exactly what she wants to offer listeners and who isn’t afraid to accompany the barest streaks of sunlight with thousands of clouds.”

The A.V. Club // A-

“Are We There functions best as the portrait of an artist coming into her own, while hopefully putting some of her demons to rest.”

Consequence of Sound // A-

Join Sharon for her Reddit #AMA today (5/27) at 12:30pm ET: http://www.reddit.com/r/IAmA/ her tonight on Later With Jools Holland on BBC Two.

Click read more to see Sharon’s upcoming tour dates continuing in France tomorrow night.

Read the rest of this entry »

Boys Life by Small Black
Words by Sharon Van Etten
Druganaut by Black Mountain
Black Mountain (Demo) by Black Mountain
Surrender by Briana Marela
I Don't Want to Let You Down by Sharon Van Etten
Just Like Blood by Sharon Van Etten
Multi-Love by Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Can't Keep Checking My Phone by Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Continental Shelf by Viet Cong
Silhouettes by Viet Cong

Ur Life One Night by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Surrender by Briana Marela

Multi-Love by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Neverending Fountain by S. Carey

Angel Olsen
Sackville, NB - Sappfest

DIANA
Sackville, NB - Sappyfest

Dinosaur Jr.
Columbus, OH - LC Pavillion  w/ Primus

Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Santa Fe, NM - Santa Fe Reporter Block Party  w/ Vinyl Williams

Viet Cong
Happy Valley, OR - Pickathon

See all upcoming shows

© 2015 Jagjaguwar. All rights reserved.