Justin Vernon Contributes to Anais Mitchell’s New Record, Hadestown


Awesome Justin Vernon collaborations keep rolling in just when you need something to sustain your Bon Iver high.  We know the truth! You’ve worn out your copy of For Emma, Forever Ago and every morning when you get up you longingly stroke the ticket stubs from their last show that you have stuck in your bathroom mirror.  Bon Iver will be back, dudes, do not fear.

In the meantime, Justin has contributed to a number of songs on the upcoming Anaïs Mitchell album, Hadestown.  It’s being released this Tuesday, March 9th, by our friends at Righteous Babe.  Details and music to hear after the jump!


Hadestown is a modern folk opera whose songs tell the tale of the ancient Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice re-imagined and set in the United States.

Download “Wait For Me” by Anaïs Mitchell featuring Justin Vernon


1: Wedding Song – Justin Vernon & Anaïs Mitchell
2: Epic (Part I) – Justin Vernon
3: Way Down Hadestown – Ben Knox Miller, Ani DiFranco, Justin Vernon, Anaïs Mitchell & the Chorus
4: Songbird Intro – instrumental
5: Hey, Little Songbird – Greg Brown, Anaïs Mitchell
6: Gone, I’m Gone – Anaïs Mitchell, the Haden Triplets
7: When the Chips are Down – the Haden Triplets
8: Wait for Me – Ben Knox Miller, Justin Vernon
9: Why We Build The Wall – Greg Brown, Chorus
10: Our Lady of the Underground – Ani DiFranco, Chorus
11: Flowers (Eurydice’s Song) – Anaïs Mitchell
12: Nothing Changes – the Haden Triplets
13: If It’s True – Justin Vernon
14: Lover’s Desire – instrumental
15: His Kiss, the Riot – Greg Brown
16: Doubt Comes In – Justin Vernon
17: I Raise My Cup to Him – Anaïs Mitchell, Ani DiFranco
18: His Kiss The Riot
19: Doubt Comes In
20: I Raise My Cup To Him

Hadestown will be released in stores this Tuesday, March 9th!

Be Sociable, Share!

Texas Girls and Jesus Christ by Trevor Sensor
The Motorway by The Besnard Lakes
Golden Lion by The Besnard Lakes
Boys Life by Small Black
No One Wants It To Happen To You by Small Black
Back At Belle's by Small Black
Words by Sharon Van Etten
Druganaut by Black Mountain
Black Mountain (Demo) by Black Mountain
Surrender by Briana Marela

Mothers of the Sun by Black Mountain

Texas Girls and Jesus Christ by Trevor Sensor

The Plain Moon by Besnard Lakes, The

Necessary Evil by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Black Mountain
CD / 2xLP

Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Birmingham, AL - Saturn  w/ Lower Dens

See all upcoming shows

© 2016 Jagjaguwar. All rights reserved.